2 Comments

My Review of Snow White and The Huntsman

It has become a sort of weekend tradition for me, my daughter, and my boyfriend to go to Menchie’s (frozen yogurt paradise!) and follow that up with a movie at the cinema. Last night when I updated my FB status to reflect I had just seen Snow White and The Huntsman one of my friends wanted to hear all about it.  This one’s for you, Dee!

Snow White and The Huntsman is a slightly different take on the fairy tale we all grew up with (closer to the original Grim’s Fairy Tale version) but not in a bad way at all.  While Kristen Stewart would not have been my first (or even a top 3) choice for Snow White, her acting has definitely improved since “Speak” and the first three installments of The Twilight Saga.  Charlize Theron is amazing and definitely makes the movie.  I’m still not completely clear on the Wicked Queen’s (“Ravenna”) story & what made her “wicked” and not just plain pitiful based on the flashbacks you see in the movie.  The story is actually quite sad. And what’s up with her brother? I don’t recall ANY version of Snow White that included the Wicked Queen having a brother, but I suppose the character serves his purpose in this film. It’s great to see that in addition to being a super hunk, Chris Hemsworth can also act : )  Overall, I would rate it 7 on a scale of 1-10. In my opinion, it’s worth the $10 =)

2 comments on “My Review of Snow White and The Huntsman

  1. Thanks Gi! I’m going to have to see it! Ok for kids?

    • Depending on the age, yes, ok for kids. There’s nothing sexually explicit & no profanity. Just a little darker than what we’ve grown accustomed to when it comes to Snow White. K Stew’s character is definitely more about “girl power” as opposed to the more feminine, docile princess we grew up reading about. Honestly, K Stew would be much more appealing if she could manage to leave her own style & personality out of her acting and just play the part! Although she HAS improved, she still has a long way to go before her fans extend beyond the Twilight junkies.

Leave a Reply

