Leave a comment

Should auld acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind?

Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and never brought to mind?

Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and days of auld lang syne?

For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

What, exactly, IS “auld lang syne” you may ask?  Well, auld lang syne refers to experiences and memories, particularly fond ones.  The expression originated in Scotland and has been passed on generation after generation.  My thoughts are that the question refers to when one breaks ties with another with whom they were once close to (i.e. a breakup, a family feud, death of a loved one, etc) and the pain is so great that it makes them wonder if they should purge the memories altogether or perhaps hold on to the good ones.  From experience, I can say that sometimes even GOOD memories can be painful thus it depends on where you are  in the healing process.  My rule of thumb is to store them in a corner of my “memory bank”:  don’t think about it if it hurts, but don’t erase it completely.  There may be a time when you’ll WANT to look back on those times and smile.

Not to sound like a martyr, but more often than not, at least when it comes to relationships, I’ve been the one left picking up the pieces of my broken heart.  To my recollection I can probably count on one hand how many times I’ve been the heart breaker and not the “breakee”, and that’s not a good feeling either.  The one thing I can say is that I’ve always been honest with myself, and if you can’t do THAT, you’re really screwed.  If you can’t be honest with yourself, how can you be honest with ANYONE???  I’m also pretty blunt, which I’ve always seen as a good thing because when it comes to emotions, it’s very easy to start seeing shades of gray instead of plain old black and white.  But as clear as you try to make the boundaries, man’s free will always prevails and you may still find yourself in a very precarious situation.  Yep: Been there, done that.

Some people believe that in order to use the words “I’m sorry” you must first be guilty of doing something wrong.  I strongly disagree.  What YOU may believe to be wrong can, and often does, differ greatly from what the other person believes.  I think we’re all familiar with the “Golden Rule” – Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  Whether the pain you caused was intentional or not, we must accept that we all make mistakes and there is always an alternative to how a situation could have been handled.

“I’m sorry” may also be overused so be sure that when you say it, you’ve put yourself in the other person’s place and your apology is sincere.  Apologizing but repeating the same action(s) over and over again depreciates the value of those two little words.

I’m just venting here, folks.  This is the philosophy that I subscribe to and my heart has been a little heavy lately due to unintentionally hurting someone.  I’ve done all I can to express the fact that I am sorry and that’s all I can do without doing further damage via actions that could easily be misinterpreted.  And while it’s true that actions speak louder than words, words are also important.

“It has been said time heals all wounds; I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens but it is never gone.” ~Rose Kennedy

Well, I, for one, AM holding on to my auld lang synes.  I sincerely hope that anyone reading this will be too.  Happy New Year, everybody!

Leave a Reply

