Leave a comment

Being a guest in someone else’s (incredibly HUGE) house…

So it’s my first trip to Vegas in a number of years where I actually get to kick back and enjoy myself rather than get up at 6 am every morning, make myself beautiful, then spend 8 hours on my feet repeating the same schpeel to every man who walks by -who is usually more interested in finding out my cup size than knowing the details of the product I’m demonstrating.

Day 1:  I have a friend I’ve known for over 20 years (yes, we met in kindergarten – hahahaha) who I recently reconnected with via Facebook -I suppose it DOES have its advantages- and conveniently lives a mere 20 minutes from where 2 of my close friends from Orlando are getting married in a few days.  PERFECT!  We get to spend some time together reminiscing AND I have a date for the wedding!  So I flew in on Wednesday afternoon, he picked me up at the airport, and we got back to his home in Henderson where I unpacked and got settled in.  I got a tour of the house (the 4,000 + sq ft house) and thought, “WOW, this is beautiful!  I’m going to really enjoy staying HERE for the next few days!”

Wide Open Spaces

Day 2:  I’m up at the crack of dawn (still on East coast time) and I’m starving.  I don’t want to wake my host so I make my way to the kitchen to get some breakfast.  The kitchen is every chef’s dream come true – granite counter tops, plenty of space, open and airy, top end appliances, etc.  Although this is my first venture into the great unknown, the refrigerator is easy enough to find. Pantry? Check.  Now comes the hard part: plates? silverware? pans?  This could be a problem: Note the 20 some odd upper and lower cabinets.  Suddenly, waking up my host doesn’t seem so terrible but I’m determined to find everything on my own. Ok, well it SEEMED like a good idea at the time.  After opening LITERALLY every drawer and cabinet, I found just about everything I needed and yet it all came down to one little thing:  where on earth were they hiding the sugar?!?  After searching everywhere else, including the smallest of the three ceramic canisters on the counter (pictured in the corner on the left) and finding it was empty, I assumed they were strictly decorative and didn’t bother checking the other two.  I guess that’s where that whole thing about “when you ASSUME, you make an ASS out of “U” and “ME” comes from.  Yep, you guessed -right there in the second canister was a whole bag worth of sugar!  So as I searched tirelessly, inching closer and closer to the point of insanity, it had been sitting there right in front of me the whole time.  YEAH.

And so, kids, the moral of the story is that unless you enjoy that feeling of helplessness and frustration, make sure that in addition to getting a tour of the house, you also get a thorough tour of the KITCHEN -or better yet, have your host make your meals for the first day and simply pay attention to where everything is kept.  Trust me -it will save you the headache of guessing!

Leave a Reply

