2 Comments

Avoid the scale!

So I’ve been on the “healthy living” bandwagon for over a month now. The last time I weighed myself was probably during the first week I incorporated my free-weight workouts too. I had lost roughly 6 lbs since the last time I weighed myself -maybe in early August? So it’s been a while since I’ve stepped on the scale, but I’ve never relied much on it anyway. Every girl I’ve ever known who weighed herself on a daily or weekly basis spent endless hours complaining that she “just can’t lose the weight!” and yet CONTINUED to torture herself by weighing in religiously. I learned from their experiences and opted for just paying attention to how my clothes fit. Once I got past the fact that it is virtually impossible for the dryer to shrink ALL your clothing at once, I found this to be a reliable way of determining when it was time to put down the Twinkies and pick up the salad.

So I can’t tell you what I weigh NOW, but I CAN say I’m very comfortable in my size 5s again and plan on staying that way for a good while.

2 comments on “Avoid the scale!

  1. Great advice! Although I am currently on a detox and am weighing myself daily so I can document my results I typically also let my jeans tell me when it is time to take action. I highly recommend The Martha’s Vineyard Detox Diet: 21 pounds in 21 days.
    http://mvdietdetox.com/
    I am on day 14 and I am down 18 pounds. But forget the weight loss, I feel fantastic! My energy level and ability to focus on tasks is on par with my early 20’s! Don’t need to lose 21 pounds? That is ok too there are tweaks to the program which allow you to control the weight loss you achieve while still reaping the benefits of a detox.
    The amazing thing about this program is it somehow, magically changes the way you view food. It quells ALL your cravings and restores your body’s PH to the 7.5 it should be. I would tell anyone wanting to flush their body before beginning a lifestyle change to pick up this book and read it twice. There is a lot in there and I think it is important to understand it completely before taking on this commitment. I honestly have to say the first two days were VERY hard, I nearly quit on day two but my friend who along with his wife is doing this with me convinced me to stick it out, after all you will not chew for 3 weeks! That is right, no eating…all drinking. But on the third day I was a changed person. Energy was through the roof, my mind was clear and not foggy and I didn’t feel bloated and lethargic, it was amazing. Now as I enter the final week, I feel so good I am afraid I don’t want to come off it. Thankfully there is a chapter in the book dealing with this and it is good to know I am not alone. It is important to note this is not a “diet” per say, it is a cleanse to remove all the toxins pent up in ya! Diets are miserable and you almost always go hungry. I have not eaten in two weeks and could not be happier, I have yet to have so much as a hunger pang or stomach gurgle! One more week and I can put the scale back under the bed with that ab machine from the 90’s! Best of luck to you!

    • Awesome! I’ve done The Master Cleanse before and that was MISERABLE but WORTH IT! I can’t wait to check out The Martha’s Vineyard Detox Diet! You truly have become a health guru! It’s been a work in progress for many years (starting with the Manchurian Mushroom!) but you’ve made some amazing discoveries so I never second guess your recommendations ; )

      I understand the need to keep a record of your progress with things like this – I was referring more to every day living. And I may not need to lose 21 lbs but after this trip to Vegas, I think 10 may be in order…LOL…just kidding, actually. I’ve been pretty good. My workouts are the only thing that I’ve really slacked on but I’ve been on vacation so I think I can cut myself a break.

      Glad this detox is going so well for you! I’ll let you know once I start mine…I get the feeling I’m going to need some SERIOUS moral support! Thanks : )

Leave a Reply

