1 Comment

Fascinating information on child rearing

I’m ashamed to say that I’ve been subscribing to iMom.com for over a year now and although I’ve saved virtually EVERY e-mail they’ve sent me, I’ve actually only READ a handful.

Tonight, I decided to catch up a bit and see what I’ve been missing.  I remembered an article titled “Einstien Never Used Flash Cards” that I received last month and I was intrigued. As it turns out, it was very informative, and not just in regard to toddlers but also for school age children as well.

Here is a look at their “Espresso Moment” for the article I’m referring to.  iMom Subscribers receive these on a daily basis.

August 15, 2011

“Gathered around the living room a few nights ago, everyone watched smiling, as the three-year old in my lap read letters off of my shirt.  That was until someone made the comment that the boy’s cousin who is the same age can already read.  Suddenly, the little boy in my lap was behind.

There seems to be an invisible measuring rod and competition between parents to raise the best and the brightest. No one wants their child to “fall behind” so parents are enrolling their toddlers in tutoring programs, pushing their kindergartners to read chapter books, and doing everything they can to raise a brain.

But studies have shown what kids really need is the opportunity to just be kids.  “

This is then followed by a link with more information pertaining to this subject.  Parents, please take a look and kindly let me know your thoughts!  I found it quite interesting.

One comment on “Fascinating information on child rearing

  1. After study a couple of of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I really like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and shall be checking again soon. Pls try my website online as effectively and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

