Leave a comment

Sitcoms & memories of the 90’s

While the sitcoms of the 90’s were entertaining the masses, I was still watching reruns of Three’s Company and Welcome Back Kotter on Nick at Nite.  What?!  Those were good shows!  Little did I know that a new, big haired raven beauty had people in stitches with her nasal voice and Lucille Ball-type humor.  Further, those who were familiar with the show insisted that I bore an uncanny resemblance to Fran Drescher and made a habit of calling me “The Nanny”.  Again, it was the 90’s so big hair was still “in”, I was 21 years old and still had my natural hair color, and was living in southern Connecticut where most people looked like they had a severe vitamin D3 deficiency. Well, I took it as a compliment!  When I finally got a look at this “Nanny” chick, I thought, “Hey-she’s pretty cute!  At least no one’s mistaking me for Sandra Bernhardt….”

Anywho, fast forward to present day 2011 and low and behold, guess what my daughter has discovered on Nick at Nite? She-is-ob-sessed! What memories this brings back!  Friends with whom I spent every waking moment but have since lost touch, my size 3 figure without any effort, my whole life ahead of me…*sigh* And although there are plenty of things I wish I had done differently (late nights partying instead of studying and thinking about my future, wasting time pining over losers, etc) for the most part, it was a good time.  I honestly don’t know if I even COULD have focused on college straight out of high school.  Some people have that ability, and God bless ’em.  I, on the other hand, was a late bloomer but it allowed me a better understanding of the college material once I was ready.

The 90’s were a great time and at times I DO get a bit nostalgic, but motherhood and all the experiences life has afforded me are equally, if not MORE rewarding.

Leave a Reply

